National Science Day

Date: Feb 28th 2019@RGUKT Basar

Every year since 1987, National Science Day is celebrated on February 28. On this day in 1928, Sir C.V. Raman discovered the famous “Raman Effect”, about scattering of light. He was awarded Nobel Prize in physics for this discovery in 1930. Main objective is to bring science in the forefront through celebration of the national science day (NSD), inculcate scientific temper and take pride in the scientific achievements of the country. The programmes relating to the “National Science Day” range from a day, to month or even longer, either beginning or culminating on February 28.

In this regard, RGUKT Basar conducts a one day National Seminar by inviting eminent personalities from physics, chemistry, mathematics and biology arenas. In addition to it, we are organizing quizzes from maths, biology, physics and chemistry disciplines. Prizes will be given to the winners.

DR. A. Ashok, IAS (Hon'ble Vice-Chancellor I/c.)

  1. Dr. D. Ashok (Osmania University)-Chemistry
  2. Dr. M. M. Krishna (CSIR-IICT)-Chemistry
  3. Prof. K. Satyanarayana (CVR College, RR)-Mathematics
  4. Prof. A. Ravindranath (OU-H)-Biosciences
  5. Dr. K. Ramgopal (TIFR-H)-Physics

Dr. Ravi Varala (Convener-NSD 2019), Head, Department of Chemistry and Coordinator, R&D Cell-Sci&Hum

Prof. S. Srihari, Dean-R&D Cell

Dr. K. Pavani, Dept. of Chemistry
Dr. A. Sai Krishna, Dept. of Biosciences
Mr. Rakesh Roshan, HoD-Department of Physics
Mr. T. P. Sunil Kumar, HoD-Department of Mathematics

Organizing committee core members:
  1. Mr Manda Sathish (Physics)
  2. Mr V. Krishnam Raju (Physics)
  3. Dr. P. Rajender (Physics)
  4. Mr. Nagesh Talagani (Mathematics)
  5. Mr. Srikanth Ravula (Mathematics)
  6. Mr. R. Shrikanth (Chemistry)
  7. Dr. S. Vittal (Chemistry)
  8. Dr. J. Kashanna (Chemistry)
  9. Mr. S. Ramarao (Biosciences)
  10. Mr. Srinivas Gajjela (Biosciences)
  11. Ch. Sridhar Reddy (Chemistry)
  12. T. Madhusudhan Reddy, Dr. M. Sudhakar and Dr. Vijay Kumar Bhukya (Public relations)

Programme schedule (National Science Day, Feb 28 2019) as of now, is as follows:
Inauguration: 10.00 am-10.45 am
Keynote talk: 10.45 am-11.30 am (Prof. D. Ashok, Osmania University)
Tea break: 11.30 am -11.45 am
II Talk: 11.45 am-12.15 pm (Dr. M. M. Krishna, CSIR-IICT)
III Talk: 12.15 pm-1.00 pm (Prof. A. Ravindranath, Osmania University)
Lunch: 01.00 pm-2.00 pm
IV Talk: 2.00 pm-2.45 pm (Prof. K. Satyanarayana, JNTU-H)
V Talk: 2.45 pm-3.30 pm (Dr. Ram Gopal, TIFR-H)
Tea break: 3.30 pm-3.45 pm
Valedictory function/Concluding remarks: 3.45 pm-5.00 pm